Costa Rica / Food

Costa Rican Cuisine

I decided to save all of my cuisine photos from Costa Rica for one big post.  Basically, rice and beans are served with every meal (even breakfast) but there are some other great foods as well.  Plantains and mangos are EVERYWHERE. Literally I pass around 4 mango trees just walking to school every morning. And here’s the thing, I don’t really like mangos or plantains…but that doesn’t stop me from still trying them with every meal, because I really do want to like them.  My Tica mom, Marta makes the most delicious meals, I look forward to her cooking! My favorite thing so far is her delicious tea (té frio) and gallo pinto!!

Gallo Pinto

Gallo pinto is a very common breakfast dish and Marta makes it for me every morning. It is basically rice mixed with black beans and other spices. There are several different ways to make gallo pinto, but I love the way Marta makes it. Yum yum yum.

Crepes, potatoes, and a flavorful drink

Making cinnamon rolls with Marta

Ice cream at Monteverde

Cajetitas de coco (like coconut macaroons)

Our cooking class

I took a cooking class at Veritas along with my Spanish class.  We learned how to make everything from gallo pinto to empanadas. It was so much fun to hang out and learn Costa Rican cooking techniques which aren’t that different from our own in the U.S. My teacher Jeanette was the cutest and funnest teacher ever! She reminded me of my own grandma, which made me feel so comfortable and like I was at home.  She also printed us all copies of the recipes to take home 🙂 I love her!

Leave a Comment

