Technology / Travel

Tech Review: Sony Bloggie Duo

Sony Bloggie Duo HD Anytime I do anything, taking more than pictures has always been a goal of mine. When looking back on my life, I would rather go through old video footage than a million pictures, but that’s just me. So, a few months back I purchased the Sony Bloggie Duo camera in hopes of having the most handy, dandy, little video camera on the market.

Before I bought anything, I did a lot of research on all the mini video cameras out there.  The ones from Kodak, Cisco (the Flip series), and Sony all stood out to me, but when going through different clips on Youtube it was obvious the Flip HD camera was the one for me! Or, so I thought.  Turns out, they had stopped making those and nowhere in my town, or the next carried them.  Long story short, I finally found a great alternative: the Bloggie.

Sony Bloggie Duo HD

First, the bloggie duo is the ideal camera for video blogging because it has an LCD screen in the front and back. Meaning, you can see yourself as you’re taking video of yourself.  This was ultimately what led me to buy this camera.  The double LCD has a light too, for low light areas.

Sony Bloggie Duo HD

The specs from Sony.com: “Up to 2 hours of HD video, 1920 x 1080p MP4 HD video, 5-megapixel stills, full-screen 2.7″ LCD, additional 2.0″ LCD for self recording flip-out USB arm, HDMI™ output”.  The flip out USB arm is so handy because I don’t have to worry about any chords or chargers.  The battery lasts for several days depending on how much you use it.  I took this camera to a concert and my footage looks amazing.

There are some things that I don’t like. First, the lens is very narrow, so it is difficult to get good wide-angle shots for landscapes. What I did to fix this was I bought a magnetic, wide-angle lens and it worked perfectly with the camera.

Sony Bloggie Duo HD

Another thing, you have to film with the camera horizontal, not vertical, or else the video will be super skinny when you put it on the computer. One more flaw is the sound.  If you playback sound on the camera, it sometimes sounds awful. But, every time I put the video on the computer, the sound was fixed and sounded normal.

Overall, I am super happy with my bloggie! Like I said, it is perfect for anyone wanting to start v-logging.  You can watch some videos I made with this camera here. However, if you’re looking to film more adventurous things, I would recommend the GoPro products.  I haven’t used them myself, but one of my good friends (who is a film student in Costa Rica) swears by it and his videos are always magnificent. I give the bloggie 4 stars.

I hope this review helps anyone looking to buy a new mini film camera! Happy filming 🙂

Leave a Comment

