Spain

Spain Favorites

 

There are so many things I love so far about Madrid, but these are the things I will probably miss the most when I return to the states!

Sandwiches from Rodilla. My favorites are tortilla, queso azul con rucula, and queso con nueces

Mantaditos. This is considered Spanish fast food…they are like miniature bocadillos (sandwiches) and they are soo delicous. They are just so fun to eat!!! Any kind will do, epescially delicious is the pollo con ali-oli (chicken with a garlic and oil sauce). YUM!

Patatas con aceite de oliva. (Potato chips made with olive oil). Spanish gold.  Spain produces some of the finest olive oil in the world, and it is used a lot in cooking.  Maybe thats why everything here taste like heaven, I could literally eat an entire bag in one sitting.

Napolitana con chocolate.  These are little pastries. I have to practice self control with these or else this is all I would eat everyday. My favorite bakery is right next to the ISA office!

Siesta time. Enough said.

Shopping. Shopping in Madrid is the best thing ever.  The two most popular department stores are El Corte Ingles and Zara.  But personally, I love Sfera, Mango, H&M, Blanco, and Lefties.   All the stores have several different floors with so many things to choose from.  The two main places to shop are in la Puerta del Sol and Gran Via.  I prefer Gran Via because the stores are bigger!  Again…self control is needed.

Vino tinto de verano.  This wine is SO GOOD. It is Amazing.  It is a refreshing, summer, red wine. It is chilled and has a really sweet flavor.  You can order it almost anywhere.

I can’t present my favorites from Madrid, without also sharing some of my not-so-favorites. These were incredibly hard to think of because I’ve only been here for two months, and that’s not very long for things to get on my nerves.

9 PM dinner. The Spanish eat lunch at 2 and dinner at 9.Waiting until 9 pm for dinner is like having to go potty in a place where there is no bathroom. My stomach is eating itself by around 7 pm.  It could be worse, at least I get a dinner!

Commute to school. Every morning I have to wake up at 6 AM for an hour-long commute to school. I definitely shall not miss this! I don’t think I could ever live in a big city. Props to everyone who commutes to school and work. I admire you, and I cherish even more my 5 minute walk to class from my dorm room on campus.

Heat. Things like air conditioning are extremely expensive in Madrid, so of course I have had to live without it in 100F+ heat. Not fun, not fun at all!

The Euro. Oh, how I despise the exchange rate! I lose about 20-30 cents for every euro I spend. Prices here are about the same as in the states, but the exchange rate makes everything a little bit more expensive. Pluh.

What do you think you would like most about living abroad? Least? 🙂 I only have 1 day left in Madrid!!! What am I going to do with myself?!

 

2 thoughts on “Spain Favorites

  1. The best thing is being able to spend mom and daddy’s money. The worst thing is when you run out of daddy’s money!!!!

Leave a Comment

